Psyche and Eros

£9.99

Born into an era of heroes, a prophecy claims that Psyche – Princess of Mycenae – will defeat a monster feared even by the gods themselves. Rebelling against society’s traditions, she spends her youth mastering blade and bow, preparing to fulfil her destiny. But she is soon caught up in powers beyond her control, when the jealous Aphrodite sends the God of Desire, Eros, to deliver a fatal love-curse. The last thing Eros wants is to become involved in the chaos of the mortal world, but when he is pricked by the very arrow intended for Psyche, he is doomed to love a woman who will be torn from him the moment their eyes meet. Thrown together by fate, headstrong Psyche and world-weary Eros will face challenges greater than they could have ever imagined. And as the Trojan War begins and the whole of the heavens try to keep them apart, will they find their way back to each other – before it’s too late?

In stock

A riotous adventure, populated by a cast of vivid, glittering charactersJENNIFER SAINT

An enthralling tale of adventure, romance, and star-crossed loversSUE LYNN TANN

THE GOD OF LOVE HAS FINALLY MET HIS MATCH…

Born into an era of heroes, a prophecy claims that Psyche – Princess of Mycenae – will defeat a monster feared even by the gods themselves. Rebelling against society’s traditions, she spends her youth mastering blade and bow, preparing to fulfil her destiny.

But she is soon caught up in powers beyond her control, when the jealous Aphrodite sends the God of Desire, Eros, to deliver a fatal love-curse. The last thing Eros wants is to become involved in the chaos of the mortal world, but when he is pricked by the very arrow intended for Psyche, he is doomed to love a woman who will be torn from him the moment their eyes meet.

Thrown together by fate, headstrong Psyche and world-weary Eros will face challenges greater than they could have ever imagined. And as the Trojan War begins and the whole of the heavens try to keep them apart, will they find their way back to each other before it’s too late?

A stunning, exciting and hotly-anticipated feminist retelling of one of the greatest love stories in Greek mythology. Luna McNamara’s exquisitely written debut will appeal to fans of Madeline Miller, Jennifer Saint and Susan Stokes-Chapman.

Praise for Psyche and Eros:

‘A fabulously entertaining retelling, full of magic, humour and heart’ ELODIE HARPER

‘This spellbinding, witty feminist retelling of the Greek myth is a must read’ WOMAN’S OWN

‘Every page is a breathless, swoonworthy adventure’ ROSHANI CHOKSHI

‘Psyche and Eros refigures for our times a classic tale of disguise and revelation, of improbable passion tested by fate’ GREGORY MAGUIRE

‘Evocative and lyrically spun…Psyche and Eros is a pure delight’ REBECCA ROSS

‘A tender, meditative, bittersweet tale of one of literature’s most ancient themes: love unfolding through self-discovery in the face of death’ MAYA DEANE

‘Fiercely feminist and deeply romantic, Psyche and Eros has the allure…and the epic quality of ancient myth, tinged with…modern wit’ AVA REID

‘One simply falls into the pages and is taken along on a fun, imaginative’ KATHERINE J. CHEN

Additional information

Weight 0.248 kg
Dimensions 19.6 × 12.8 × 2.4 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

352

Language

English

Edition

1st paperback ed

Dewey

813.6 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K