The silence project

£8.99

Monster. Martyr. Mother. On Emilia Morris’s thirteenth birthday, her mother Rachel moves into a tent at the bottom of their garden. From that day on, she never says another word. Inspired by her vow of silence, other women join her and together they build the Community. Eight years later, Rachel and thousands of her followers around the world burn themselves to death. In the aftermath of what comes to be known as the Event, the Community’s global influence quickly grows. As a result, the whole world has an opinion about Rachel – whether they see her as a callous monster or a heroic martyr – but Emilia has never voiced hers publicly. Until now. When she publishes her own account of her mother’s life in a memoir called The Silence Project, Emilia also decides to reveal just how sinister the Community has become.

In stock

The gripping story of what it’s like to be the daughter of a woman who changed the world – perfect for fans of The Power and VoxA BBC RADIO 2 BOOK CLUB PICK AND KINDLE NO. 1 BESTSELLER ‘Engrossing and original. The Silence Project will get people talking’ Bernardine Evaristo Mother. Martyr. Murderer. On Emilia Morris’s thirteenth birthday, her mother Rachel moves into a tent at the bottom of their garden. From that day on, she never says another word. Inspired by Rachel’s example, other women join her and together they build the Community. Eight years later, Rachel and thousands of her followers shock the world as they silence themselves forever.In the aftermath of what comes to be known as the Event, the Community’s global influence quickly grows. As a result, the whole world has an opinion about Rachel – whether they see her as a callous monster or a heroic martyr – but Emilia has never voiced hers publicly. Until now. Readers can’t stop shouting about The Silence Project: ‘A true masterpiece’ ***** ‘One hell of a book!’ ***** ‘Had me hooked’ ***** ‘Red-hot’ ***** ‘I don’t think I’ve ever read a book as quickly’ ***** ‘Gave me the shivers’ *****

Additional information

Weight 0.305 kg
Dimensions 19.8 × 12.9 × 2.5 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

448

Language

English

Edition

1st paperback ed

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K